About

Top 5 Reasons to Trust DestinationDenise

#1 – I have over 30 years of international travel experience.
I may not look old enough to have that much experience, but it’s true.  I’ve had a passport since I was 17 months old and took my first international trip, to meet my Chilean family, at age 2.  By middle school, I was traveling domestically and internationally with minimally supervised school trips.  At 14, I planned all aspects of our family vacation to Costa Rica (in the mostly pre-internet dark ages!) and have been planning trips ever since.  I’ve backpacked solo through Europe and Central America, visited almost every continent, and driven across the US three times.

Back when I used to pack REALLY lightly

Back when I used to pack REALLY lightly

 

#2 – I’m a Top Contributor on Trip Advisor.
We all use sites like Yelp, Trip Advisor, Amazon or Angie’s List to get reviews from real people before making big decisions these days.  In 2013 I decided to start giving back by contributing to Trip Advisor. Within a year and a half, I was in the top 1% of all contributors from Los Angeles with over 30,000 readers.  Beyond the quantity of contributions, I aim for quality.  My reviews include photos and enough details to frequently earn Helpful votes from the community. (find my tripadvisor reviews at www.tripadvisor.com/members/DeniseMW)

Tripadvisor

 

#3 –  I taught middle school for seven years, and teachers never lie.
Teachers never lie, I swear.  We take an oath to lead an honest life at all times in order to be excellent role models for the children.  Yup, that’s 100% true.

When not teaching science, I occasionally served as school mascot

When not teaching science, I occasionally served as the school mascot

 

#4 – I do not receive any money for my reviews.
I really hope to be able to delete that sentence, soon. If you’d like to let me stay at your hotel, eat at your restaurant, or take your tour in exchange for an honest review and internet exposure, feel free to email me. If you want to pay me actual money, you can be my new best friend too!

The rat I ate in Thailand because it was free.  If someone pays me for my travel writing, maybe I won't have to eat weird things anymore.  (I mean I still will, but I won't HAVE TO)

The rat I ate in Thailand because it was free. If someone pays me for my travel writing, maybe I won’t have to eat weird things anymore. (I mean I still will, but I won’t HAVE TO)

 

#5 – I obviously look trustworthy.
Just look at this baby passport!  How can you not trust that face?

My first passport

My first passport

Not good enough for you?  How about me holding a baby?  Someone obviously thought I was trustworthy enough to hold their baby!

Me holding an adorable baby

Me holding an adorable baby

 

 

One thought on “Top 5 Reasons to Trust DestinationDenise

  1. Pingback: The Ultimate American Road Trip (part 1) | destinationdenise

Leave a Reply

